Atlas F1 News Service

Raikkonen Fastest on Last Day of Monza Testing

Friday July 6th, 2001

Sauber's Kimi Raikkonen set the fastest time today, on the last day of testing at Monza, the young Finn recording the fastest time of the week right at the end of the fourth day.

Raikkonen's time was 1:23.532, over a second faster than the second fastest time set by Andrew Lotterer, Jaguar's test driver. Raikkonen has been the fastest both in the morning and the afternoon sessions today, and Sauber's head of testing, Jacky Eeckelaert, said the team were satisfied with the development achieved.

"We finished our tyre evaluation work for the British GP yesterday," Eeckelaert said, "so today we were able to focus our attention on further aerodynamic work today in which we assessed new information that we received overnight from the wind tunnel. We are pleased with the direction in which it has led us. "At the same time we were able to follow our plan to test revised suspension and brakes for Hockenheim, as well as further assessing tyres for the German track."

"This was another good day for us," added Raikkonen himself, "and I was pleased with the progress that we made with our new aerodynamic set-up. We also did some good work on the tyres, suspension and brakes, so we have had a very positive week's testing here."

Jordan also wrapped up a four-day test at Monza today, with Jarno Trulli and Ricardo Zonta at the wheel. The team reported that Zonta worked on general chassis development and tyre durability with further brake options evaluation, while Trulli focused on race set-up for brakes and tyres. According to the team, both card endured "small problems" which meant the team ended the day's work prematurely. However, Jordan said the four day test was "very productive overall, providing the team with valuable data for further development of the EJ11."

McLaren, Jaguar and BAR also completed testing at Monza, with former World Champion Mika Hakkinen crashing in the morning session. The Finn walked away unhurt.

Today's times:

Pos  Driver      Team-Engine            Time      Laps
 1.  Raikkonen   Sauber-Petronas   (B)  1.23.532  79
 2.  Lotterer    Jaguar-Cosworth   (M)  1.24.710  74
 3.  Wurz        McLaren-Mercedes  (B)  1.24.732  27
 4.  Trulli      Jordan-Honda      (B)  1.24.908  44
 5.  Hakkinen    McLaren-Mercedes  (B)  1.25.055  41
 6.  de la Rosa  Jaguar-Cosworth   (M)  1.25.091  79
 7.  Zonta       Jordan-Honda      (B)  1.25.155  50
 8.  Panis       BAR-Honda         (B)  1.25.507  50

All Timing Unofficial

Published at 17:16:14 GMT

© 1995-2019 <<  Previous  |  Jul 2001 News |  Next  >>